



## Call for Papers: 6th Annual Digital Democracy Workshop

University of Zurich 13-14 November 2025

We invite paper submissions on the relationship between digital technology and democracy, broadly understood. We are particularly interested in topics such as the role of social media and AI in political communication and public opinion, e-government and public administration, AI and governance, civic tech and political participation, the regulation of tech platforms, and state repression and digital surveillance, among others. We welcome submissions using different methodological approaches to study these topics.

This workshop is organized by the Democracy Community of the *Digital Society Initiative* (<a href="https://democracy.dsi.uzh.ch">https://democracy.dsi.uzh.ch</a>) at the University of Zurich. It aims to facilitate exchange and collaboration among scholars from different substantive fields working on these topics.

Workshop attendance is free and is open to both paper presenters and non-presenters, but registration is required and subject to seat availability. The workshop will take place in Zurich from about 9:00, 13 November until about 17:00, 14 November. All presenters are expected to attend in person and make their own travel arrangements.

The **deadline** to submit paper abstracts (up to 500 words) for the workshop is **31 May 2025**. Find the submission page at this link: <a href="https://forms.gle/msXAbySJcavm2Z1e9">https://forms.gle/msXAbySJcavm2Z1e9</a>. Acceptance notifications will be sent by 11 July 2025.

Registration for non-presenters will open in September. Please note that co-authors have to register separately as non-presenters if they wish to attend the workshop.

We provide a limited number of travel grants for junior scholars; more information will be provided upon acceptance. We particularly encourage early-career researchers and those belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in the field to apply.

Organizing committee: Anna Boos, Alexandre Bovet, Philip Di Salvo, Karsten Donnay, Fabrizio Gilardi, Emma Hoes, Meret Prangulaishvili, Anina Schwarzenbach, Jennifer Victoria Scurrell, Philipp Trein. We can be reached at <a href="mailto:democracy@dsi.uzh.ch">democracy@dsi.uzh.ch</a>.